Please find comments concerning events and news concerning TalaveraScience, its clients and our customers; please send your input to webmaster@talaverascience for consideration for publication with 'TalaveraScience Comment' in the subject line.

The Caldarelli Prize in Magnetic Resonance 2023

We are asking for nominations for The Caldarelli Prize in Magnetic Resonance, which will be awarded during the Alpine Conference on Magnetic Resonance in Solids 2023.

The prize is aiming to recognise the contribution of young scientists who made a personal and recent ground-breaking contribution to the field of magnetic resonance in solids. Scientists are eligible within 10 years after completing their Ph.D. degree (extensions are possible under certain circumstances).

The prize is dedicated to the memory of Stefano Caldarelli, who was one of the founders of the Alpine Conference, and is supported by Bruker Biospin.

Nominations must be received by April 28th, 2023, and include:

  • Nomination Letter (including the nominee’s name, affiliation and email), optionally up to 2 seconding letters;
  • Curriculum Vitae (2 pages maximum);
  • Highlights of the nominee’s contribution to the field, including a selection of up to 10 publications (2 pages maximum).

Please send the complete set of documents to Self-nominations will not be considered.

The organising committee: Jean-Nicolas Dumez (CNRS, Université de Nantes), Daniel Lee (University of Manchester), Michal Leskes (Weizmann Institute), Józef Lewandowski (University of Warwick), Charlotte Martineau-Corcos (CortecNet), Paul Schanda (Institut de Biologie Structurale),

7th March, 2023.

Anatole Abragam Prize for Young Investigators 2023

Call for Nominations for the Anatole Abragam Prize for Young Investigators 2023.

Anatole Abragam made seminal contributions to both NMR and EPR and was a recipient of the ISMAR Prize and a Fellow of ISMAR. In addition to his superb scientific contributions, fostering young scientists was clearly close to his heart. With this in mind, ISMAR awards the “Anatole Abragam Prize” to young scientists at biennial ISMAR conferences (see Monetary support for this Prize is provided by Bruker Biospin.

The 2023 Anatole Abragam Prize will be awarded at the 23rd ISMAR Conference in Brisbane, Australia, August 20-25, 2023 (see Candidates are eligible within seven years of completing their PhD (excluding career delays due to child birth, illness and other special family circumstances), and can be nominated by any Regular Member or Fellow of ISMAR. The recipient is selected by the ISMAR Prize Committee on the basis of evidence of novel and significant contributions to magnetic resonance. Preference is given to nominees who have made their own original and independent contributions to experimental or conceptual aspects of magnetic resonance, beyond work performed with their research supervisors. The award aims to recognize and foster outstanding young scientists at an important point in their career.

You are invited to submit nominations by email to the Secretary General, Nominations must be received by March 1, 2023 and should include the following documents, assembled into a single pdf file:

  • Nomination letter (maximum of two pages);
  • At least one seconding letter (maximum of two pages), no more than two seconding letters should be submitted;
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee (including any career delays or extenuating circumstances impacting productivity);
  • List of publications and scientific presentations by the nominee.

We look forward to seeing you in Brisbane in August!

Alexej Jerschow, Secretary General of ISMAR.

2022 Nobel Prizes

It was 2022 NOBEL PRIZE week and those honoured were:

  • For PHYSICS Alain Aspect (Institut d’Optique Graduate School – Université Paris-Saclay, Paris, France, École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France), John F. Clauser (J.F. Clauser and Assoc., Walnut Creek, CA, USA) and Anton Zeilinger (University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria) "for experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science",;
  • For CHEMISTRY Carolyn R. Bertozzi (Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA), and Morten Meldal (University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark) and K. Barry Sharpless (Scripps Research, La Jolla, CA, USA) “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”,;
  • For PHYSIOLOGY or MEDICINE Svante Pääbo (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig, Germany, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Okinawa, Japan) “for his discoveries concerning the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution”,
  • .

Congratulations to the new Nobel Laureates!

20th October, 2022.


16th-20th April, 2023; TalaveraScience will be attending the 64th Experimental NMR Conference, ENC, Asilomar, California, USA;

27th–28th April, 2023; TalaveraScience will be attending the Spin Hyperpolarisation Meeting at the University of Nottingham, UK;

27th–30th March, 2023; TalaveraScience will be attending the 56th Annual International Meeting of the ESR Spectroscopy Group of the RSC; University of Leeds, Leeds, UK;

30th-31st January, 2023; TalaveraScience will be attending the 44th Danish NMR Meeting, Helsingør, Denmark at the conference center Konventum;

November, 2022, SPINACH, Version 2.7 is now available and will shortly also become available at NMRBox. This version has several new features for both EPR, NMR and DNP. It is available at the following links: available now; available, shortly.

Attendees of the 2022 RSC EPR Meeting in St Andrews

Contact for further information.